Loss of a loved one: how to grieve?

Please log in or register to do it.

When a loved one goes missing, sadness takes hold of our body, leaving us alone and helpless in the face of our grief. Powerless, you have to find the courage to begin your work of mourning, after having addressed a final goodbye to this person whom you loved so much. A step as difficult as it is essential to rebuild and learn to live with this immense void that surrounds us. 

As Alphonse de Lamartine rightly said : ”  You lack only one being, and everything is depopulated  “. And the loss of a loved one can quickly sink you, even if it means forgetting the meaning of your own life. 

To get back on top and gradually get back to your daily life, without this heavy burden that you carry on your shoulders, you have to do what is called mourning. Long-term work, essential to see the end of the tunnel and accept this tragic disappearance. The Beauty Lodge supports you in your emotional reconstruction … 

Grief, the essential step towards reconstruction 

Whether you have lost a parent, a spouse, a friend, a brother or a sister … Grieving must be done. It’s not about forgetting the person who left you, you have to learn to live with his absence, by accepting it. You have to get your life back, make plans and get the dark ideas out of your head … 

And although it may seem impossible to you at the moment, time helps to heal and overcome events, no matter how painful they are! We don’t forget anything, we only learn to live with it … Woman grieving

The 5 stages of grief 

Mourning has no specific duration. It can take several days, weeks, months or even years. Everyone does it at their own pace, there are no rules. 

One thing is certain, you will go through 5 stages, before getting better. A path as difficult as it is necessary to rebuild yourself emotionally. 

  1. Denial 

Following the news of the death of a loved one who is dear to your heart, reactions vary from one individual to another. Sometimes you don’t believe it. You tell yourself that it is not possible, that he could not have left, like that, suddenly, so suddenly. The reality is so painful that you prefer to deny it.

Conversely, some people will cry bitterly, scream and let go of their emotions. Others will be completely closed emotionally and not feel anything. Everyone reacts in their own way to terrible news. 

  1. Anger

After the denial period, you may be angry. To blame the whole world and find it unfair that the person you love so much is no longer part of this world. Know that your reaction is normal, and that you have to go through this step to rebuild yourself. 

  1. The negotiation phase 

This phase is a bit special… You will react in a completely irrational way, trying to negotiate the return of the deceased. And even if you know deep down that it is impossible, you search in your head for a way to see that person again, even if only once. 

  1. The Depression 

Unfortunately, you realize that the loss has really taken place. Sadness and grief come over you again, and you enter the phase of depression .
You lose your taste for life and you are unable to resume your daily life, where you left off. You are physically present but psychologically absent.  This phase is generally longer than the others. But don’t hurry. Take the time to let go of your grief, let your tears fall, and face this horrible suffering. 

  1. The final phase: acceptance 

A day will come and the time will have dried your tears. Without forgetting the loved one, you will find within yourself the strength to move forward and to live again. A smile will read on your lips and it will signify that you have accepted the situation. The lack will always be present, you will have just tamed it. This pain that was so far insurmountable will become your greatest strength. You will finally live without feeling guilty, and the loved one will live through you, for eternity. Since you know it, love never dies. 

What Do You Really Know About Chinese Astrology?
How to recover after a burnout?


Already reacted for this post.